The Sector Skills Council for

the Financial Services Industry






Financial Services Skills Council

51 Gresham Street

London EC2V 7HQ

Telephone +44 (0)20 7216 7366

Fax +44 (0)20 7216 7370




First financial trainers recognised under new Skills Council scheme

17 November 2005


The names of the first seven trainers in the UK to gain Financial Services Skills Council

(FSSC) Recognised Trainer status are made public today (17 November 2005).


The FSSC Recognised Trainer Scheme, launched in July this year, is designed for individuals who work independently or who want to achieve recognition as an individual for their work within a financial services firm as an in-house trainer. The scheme is the third in a suite of FSSC schemes. The first two schemes, Accreditation of Training Excellence for firms and for training providers, were launched in May 2005.


The first trainers to receive recognition, all of whom work across the UK, are:

Sarah Jefferies FCII, CN Consulting Limited, based in Poole, Dorset

Neil Diamond, LUMA BDCI Limited, based in Harrogate, North Yorkshire

Anne Clews and Louise Duncan, LA Direction, based in Cheshire and Surrey respectively

Geoff Gaunt, PRISM Training and Development Ltd, based in Falkirk, Scotland

Alexis Collins, Accounts Training Ltd, based in Richmond-upon-Thames, Surrey

Andy Leese, Complete Learning Systems, based in Leek, Staffordshire.


In order to meet the standard, the trainers had to have a FSSC-recognised level 3 (or above) training qualification or undergo an assessment of their training delivery skills before undertaking a self audit. The FSSC Recognised Trainer Scheme is evidence-based, and trainers must provide evidence that they meet an industry standard developed by the FSSC. Where required, assessment of training delivery skills was provided by an external assessor from the Training Foundation, which was recently awarded The Queen's Awards for Enterprise: Innovation for its Trainer Assessment Programme.


One of the newly-recognised trainers, Anne Clews, said: "The FSSC recognition programme gave me an opportunity to examine my professional training standards and learn from other facilitators within my profession. Being recognised by the FSSC and having gone through the process will add value to the training services I provide."


Independent trainers who achieve the award are listed on the FSSC website and are eligible to use an FSSC Recognition logo on their professional materials. Recognition will normally last for three years before a new audit is required, although within the three year period a re-licence will need to be applied for annually.


FSSC Chief Executive Teresa Sayers said: "This scheme gives trainers who are performing well a quality mark that enables them to differentiate themselves. It's also a useful indicator for users of training services who want to ensure that they are buying in trainers of the right quality."


More information about the FSSC's recognition and accreditation schemes is available at:



- ends -


Press contacts:


Susan Tindale: Marketing & Communications Manager, FSSC

T - 020 7216 7605



Sue Martin: PR Consultant, FSSC

T - 020 7216 7381




Notes to Editors:


         The Financial Services Skills Council (FSSC) is an independent, employer-led organisation, established in 2004 to provide strategic leadership for education, training and skills development for the financial services industry across the UK. It aims to improve productivity and business performance by ensuring that the industry is equipped with the range and level of skills that it needs. The financial services sector is central to the UK economy, generating over 5% of UK GDP and with a turnover of more than £46bn a year. It employs more than a million people in more than 35,000 companies, and affects every single person in the UK. The FSSC sets performance standards for the entire sector, including banking, building societies, insurance companies and brokers, independent financial advisers, investment administration and pensions. See:


         Trainer details, the recognition award logo, full details of all the FSSC's accreditation and recognition schemes and registration details are available at>




17 November 2005